Bodecia, the Dark, and the Light

EXT. EVENING. HIGUTCHI, JAPAN. XENAVERSE 14 B.C.

V.O. GABRIELLE
Who can define the fine line between what is reality, and what is only a wild story imagined within a nightmare? We don’t really know if we are in life, or if we are within something greater than our own existence. As Xena and I stood upon the walls of the fortress in the village of Higutchi she contemplated what it was that she must do in order to succeed.

FADE UP into a distant eerie misty mountain range.

ALT XENA
Can you hear them?

ALT GABRIELLE
I thought I heard a horse before.

ALT XENA
Listen not to just the sounds, but listen to what is behind the sounds.

ALT GABRIELLE closes her eyes and a MONTAGE of scenes with SOLDIERS marching flows through her mind. ALT GABRIELLE opens her eyes and takes a deep cleansing breath. She turns and looks to ALT XENA standing behind her.

ALT GABRIELLE
How many are there?

ALT XENA
At least three armies are gathering.

ALT GABRIELLE and ALT XENA stand together focused viewing the distant mountains.

ALT GABRIELLE
I’ll warn the others.

ALT GABRIELLE exits. ALT HAROGOTA enters from the stone stairs above approaching ALT XENA.

V.O GABRIELLE
Xena had to convince Harogota of her desire to undo her wrong. This was my greatest fear for I was unaware of what it would cost for Xena to redeem herself this time.

ALT XENA turns to face HAROGOTA.

ALT XENA
Ghostkiller. I know that you think of me as your enemy, but you must believe this. My spirit aches for the torment I’ve caused.

ALT HAROGOTA
(beat)
We both want the same thing, to release those souls.

ALT XENA
You’ve dedicated your life to killing Lord Yodoshi. Why is it that you have never succeeded?

ALT HAROGOTA
I have the power to slay him. But it is impossible for me to get close enough you use my blade.

ALT XENA
Why?

ALT HAROGOTA
Because, I am mortal.

ALT XENA makes a realization.

ALT HAROGOTA
Only another ghost can trap a spirit as mighty as Yodoshi.
ALT XENA makes a second realization and then gazes out toward the distant mountain ranges. FADE OUT.

INT. MORNING. TEMPLE. HIGUTCHI, JAPAN.
CROSS DISOLVE into temple. PAN across empty temple until we reveal a door and then ALT XENA in praying alone. She is preparing for a battle.

ALT XENA
Akemi, I know what I must do. But I’m afraid that with this day, what’s done may not be undone.

ALT GABRIELLE enters through the temple door.

ALT GABRIELLE
Xena, the militia is prepared.

ALT XENA does not respond.

ALT GABRIELLE
Why aren’t you ready?

ALT XENA
Gabrielle, come here.

ALT GABRIELLE hesitates then moves closer to ALT XENA

ALT XENA
Gabrielle, come here. Give me your hands.

ALT GABRIELLE obeys the command and kneels down before ALT XENA.

ALT XENA
Alright.

ALT XENA takes ALT GABRIELLE’S hands and places them on both sides of her neck.

ALT XENA
Here. Feel the surge of blood under the skin.

ALT GABRIELLE follows the instruction.

ALT XENA
Now Gabrielle, just behind that…

ALT GABRIELLE pulls away.

ALT GABRIELLE
Xena! You don’t have to do this. I understand why you would never want to teach me the pinch.

ALT XENA
No! No today more than ever. I want you to know what I know. Please.

ALT XENA nods approval toward ALT GABRIELLE. ALT GABRIELLE surrenders again to ALT XENA’S lesson. ALT XENA uses ALT GABRIELLE’s hands to apply the pinch move upon herself. ALT GABRIELLE flinches at the thought of her friend’s life being at her hands in the balance.

ALT GABRIELLE
Why are you doing this?

ALT XENA struggles to speak as blood flows out of her nose.

ALT XENA
Gabrielle, if I only had thirty seconds to live. This is how I’d want to live them. Looking into your eyes.

ALT GABRIELLE shakes ALT XENA’s shoulders with emotional alarm.

ALT GABRIELLE
Stop this! Stop it!

ALT XENA
Always remember I love you.

ALT XENA guides ALT GABRIELLE to release her from death.

INT. NIGHT. TAVERN IN POTEDIA. XENAVERSE 2 AD.
GABRIELLE sits on a table inside a full tavern telling her tales of her time with the warrior princess.

GABRIELLE
I felt something very strange about this moment. As if the final moment had passed between me and my soul mate together as one in this life.

YOUNG BOY
Where is Xena now?

GABRIELLE
She is in my heart. Where she will always live.

YOUNG GIRL
Can we see her in your heart?

GABRIELLE
When you look inside my soul, she will see you.

YOUNG BOY 2
Gabrielle, how do we see her in your soul?

GABRIELLE
It’s getting late. If you all come back tomorrow night I can finish the story of the great warrior princess.
All the children groan with disappointment, and young people, and older people in the tavern begin to disperse.

LILLA is cleaning and closing up the tavern. GABRIELLE joins her at the bar area and helps her.

LILLA
You still miss her don’t you?

GABRIELLE
Of course I miss her Lilla. But I know she is still with me always.

LILLA
Why didn’t you bring her back?

GABRIELLE
It was not what she wanted. Xena needed redemption more than anything. I chose to honor her as she had asked.

LILLA
If she has been gone for 60 seasons why didn’t you come home sooner?

GABRIELLE
Lilla, Xena left me with a huge responsibility to continue fighting for the greater good.

LILLA
Why aren’t you still fighting? Why did you come home now?

GABRIELLE
I’m not as young as I used to be. I need to find someone I can pass on Xena’s legacy to.

LILLA
You’re one to talk. At least you stayed frozen on top of a mountain for 25 years and still look not a day over 40.

GABRIELLE
No matter what you will always be my silly little sister Lilla. Now quit worrying about me and what I’m going to do and get some sleep. I’ll finish up here.

LILLA
I’m glad your home Gabrielle.

INT. NIGHT. GABRIELLE’S BEDROOM
GABRIELLE is preparing to turn in. GABRIELLE places her staff against the wall. She removes her sais from her boots beneath her healer’s clothing. Reveal GABRIELLE pulling the CHAKRAM from beneath her clothing pausing to look at it and then setting it onto the table with her sais. GABRIELLE looks in the mirror.

GABRIELLE
Xena, give me a sign. Who would you leave your legacy to when I am no longer here to continue it?

GABRIELLE removes her hat and jewelry. Then GABRIELLE moves to the window and looks out at the silent village of Potedia in contemplation. She watches as someone down below rides by on horseback. CU GABRIELLE in contemplation. CROSS DISSOLVE.

EXT. ROME. ALT XENAVERSE. RAINY PATH

CROSS DISSOLVE ALT GABRIELLE rides a horse in the rain.

EXT. ROME. ALT XENAVERSE. TEMPLE OF THE FATES

ALT GABRIELLE rides up to the temple entrance and dismounts focused and determined.

INT. ROME. ALT XENAVERSE. TEMPLE OF THE FATES
ALT GABRIELLE bursts through the temple doors focused and determined. REVEAL the LOOM is in shambles lying on the floor of the temple. ALT GABRIELLE realizes that there is nothing that can be done. Despair and rage begin to take hold.

ALT GABRIELLE
It’s horrible.

The FATES are in shackles unable to tend their LOOM.

FATE 1
When Caesar left us chained…

FATE 2
We could not mind the loom…

FATE 3
Creating a world full of chaos, and confusion.

ALT GABRIELLE
We’re stuck in this world because of you?

ALT GABRIELLE reaches out above the FATES upon the wall for a hanging torch. She uses the torch to examine the faces of the FATES closer. The FATES fear her. ALT GABRIELLE turns away from the FATES with her torch and walks back toward the broken LOOM.

FATE 1
No! Burning the loom will destroy everything!

CU emotional ALT GABRIELLE

ALT GABRIELLE
So be it!

ALT GABRIELLE moves closer to the LOOM with her torch.

ALT GABRIELLE
Your loom destroyed what was meant to be.

ALT GABRIELLE hurls the heavy torch into the loom setting it on fire for total destruction. ALT GABRIELLE and the FATES feel the universal power of the loom as it is burning away into nothing. ALT GABRIELLE collapses before the burning loom.

V.O. XENA
I love you Gabrielle.

INT. MORNING. GABRIELLE’S BEDROOM

V.O. XENA
(softly whispering)
Gabrielle wake up!

GABRIELLE suddenly awakens from her dream. She is puzzled for a moment until she realizes she was just having a dream.

INT. MORNING. TAVERN IN POTEDIA

LILLA is behind the bar serving the morning patrons. The tavern is full with loud rambunctious families enjoying their morning meal and company. GABRIELLE enters from upstairs carrying her scroll bag, and her staff. She appears ready to go somewhere.

LILLA
Gabrielle, where are you going?

GABRIELLE
I need to go see the fates.

LILLA
I thought you had given up the old Greek gods?

GABRIELLE
It’s difficult to explain. I’ll be back.

GABRIELLE rushes out of the busy tavern.

LILLA
What about the end of that story you were going to tell the children?

LILLA looks out at the children sitting in front of her.

LILLA
I guess it will have to wait.

EXT. DAY. TEMPLE OF THE FATES
GABRIELLE rides up. She cautiously dismounts her horse noticing that there is a second horse unattended outside the temple. GABRIELLE pulls her sais and looks around. Then she decides to enter the temple with her weapon drawn.

INT. DAY. TEMPLE OF THE FATES
GABRIELLE slowly enters through the temple doors. All is quiet, dark, and mysterious. Down at the other end of the temple a figure sits in front of the pristine loom. GABRIELLE slowly approaches the figure deciding to put her weapons away. She then chooses to pull out the chakram.

GABRIELLE
You there. Show yourself!

CLOAKED FIGURE slowly rises from seated position in front of the loom. CLOAKED FIGURE slowly turns to face GABRIELLE and takes off her hood revealing EVE.

GABRIELLE
Eve.

GABRIELLE puts away the CHAKRAM and approaches EVE embracing her.

GABRIELLE
What are you doing here? I thought you were still in Rome?

EVE
Gabrielle, I had a vision while in prayer. My vision guided me to come here to meet with you.

GABRIELLE
What else did your vision say?

EVE
Nothing more. I was hoping you would know the answer to that.

GABRIELLE
I came because I had a dream last night. It was a dream I had once before, a very long time ago. In my dream I destroyed the fates’ loom because it had created a world where I never knew your mother.

EVE
Did you come to destroy the loom?

GABRIELLE
I’m not sure. In my dream the loom was unkept. This one is in pristine condition. I don’t think I am meant to destroy it.

EVE
Maybe the oracle in Delphi can help you interpret your dream.

GABRIELLE
I don’t believe in accidents, and it is no accident that we have met here. Let’s pay the oracle a visit.

MONTAGE: GABRIELLE AND EVE HORSEBACK RIDING ACROSS DISTANCES

EXT. TEMPLE OF THE ORACLE
GABRIELLE and EVE dismount their horses.

EVE
Gabrielle, I will wait here. You should see her. Tell her about your dream.

GABRIELLE
I won’t be long.

EVE
Take your time. You may be longer than you think.

INT. DAY. ORACLE DELPHI GREECE. XENAVERSE 2 A.D.
FADE UP as GABRIELLE is seated in front of the ORACLE and she is in a state of mediation. Her eyes are closing as she breathes deeply in and out. POV is above inside the oracle’s temple, but the camera slowly MOVES DOWN, PUSHES IN and around both GABRIELLE and then the ORACLE. The ORACLE is dressed in robes and a veil that covers all of her face except her eyes.

GABRIELLE V.O.
It followed many seasons after the fates had colluded. In a dream, Gabrielle had destroyed the loom of the fates, and a new story was born. The battling bard Gabrielle had not written another tale of Xena the Warrior Princess since. Gabrielle’s last scroll had been written after she had dreamed of another universe in which her beloved friend Xena the Warrior Princess had lived.

FLASHBACK:
Montage of scenes from the original series from the episode “When Fates Collide.” Include ALT XENA’s crucifixion by ALT CAESAR, ALT CAESAR’s murder by ALT ALTI, and ALT GABRIELLE throwing the burning torch into the fates’ loom destroying it.

INT. DAY. ORACLE DELPHI GREECE. 2 A.D.
CU GABRIELLE still seated meditating with the ORACLE shifting within her mind moment to moment. ORACLE is seemingly sharing these moments within mediation.

GABRIELLE V.O.
It was more like a vision that had occurred to the bard during a visit to the oracle. Though the bard Gabrielle first had the dream 60 seasons before, upon Xena’s death in the distant land of Higutchi, Gabrielle now found herself deep in meditation with the oracle at Delphi. During Gabrielle’s trance with the oracle she saw her old dream from long before flash through her soul and sense once more. It was as real is if it had actually happened within another time place and space.

FLASHBACK:

EXT. DAY. MISTY DENSE FOREST
ALT GABRIELLE is disoriented walking alone in the forest unaware of her surroundings as she explores carefully. ALT XENA rides up upon her horse to greet ALT GABRIELLE who turns around upon hearing ALT XENA approaching. ALT XENA extends her hand out to ALT GABRIELLE offering her a ride upon her horse.

ALT XENA
Hey.

ALT GABRIELLE
Hi.

ALT XENA
You brought the world back to us.

ALT GABRIELLE
I’m glad. I like this one better.

ALT XENA
Why is that?

ALT GABRIELLE accepts ALT XENA’s offer for a ride upon her horse.

ALT GABRIELLE
Because you never you never left me to die in battle at Higutchi.

ALT XENA
What about realizing your dream of being a famous playwright?

ALT GABRIELLE
Fame? Who needs it?

ALT GABRIELLE wraps her arms around ALT XENA as they ride. FADE OUT into the ORACLE.

INT. DAY. ORACLE DELPHI GREECE
FADE UP into smoke and incense burning. GABRIELLE’s eyes are still closed. The ORACLE is entranced with GABRIELLE as she has her visions. ORACLE is clothed in white angelic flowing robes. As the camera moves in on ORACLE it reveals the ORACLE has deep piercing blue eyes as they slowly open. Carefully the ORACLE reaches her hands out and gently places them upon GABRIELLE’s face.
XENA
(speaking softly)
Gabrielle, open your eyes.

GABRIELLE slowly opens her eyes. GABRIELLE recognizes XENA. Gabrielle sheds joyful tears. XENA smiles.

GABRIELLE
Xena!

XENA
Gabrielle, I am only a vision with in the body of the oracle.

GABRIELLE
I’ve missed you Xena. It’s been 60 seasons since…
XENA raises her hand and gently places her finger upon GABRIELLE’s lips.

XENA
I’ve missed you too Gabrielle.
XENA’s eyes welling up with joyful tears.

XENA
You haven’t changed.

GABRIELLE
I’ve been lost without you Xena. I’ve tried to continue on the fight for the greater good, but it has become more than I can bare alone.

XENA
It’s all right Gabrielle. We can be together again soon, but I need your help.

GABRIELLE
Anything, Xena.

XENA
Gabrielle, I need you to do something. What I am about to ask of you won’t be easy. But first I need to confess something to you.

GABRIELLE
Even in death you still hold secrets from me?

XENA
Gabrielle it’s important you know that I made a deal with Ares after you fell into the fire pit with Hope.

GABRIELLE
My daughter? What about Hope?

FLASHBACK:

Montage of scenes from “Sacrifice II.” ALT GABRIELLE falls into the fire pit with look-alike daughter HOPE. ALT XENA and ALT JOXER are overcome with grief as they watch ALT GABRIELLE falling to her unexpected death. ARES god of war, disappears within his godly force as ALT JOXER lunges at him attacking clumbsily with his sword. ALT JOXER misses and plunges himself into a wall.

INT. DAY. ORACLE DELPHI GREECE

GABRIELLE
I don’t understand Xena.

XENA
I agreed to a binding contract to marry Ares for eternity after my life with you ended. You remember the vision that Alti gave me? You were alive only to die with me upon Caesar’s cross?

GABRIELLE
You agreed to spend eternity with Ares?

XENA
It was the only way I could bring you back to me. It was the only way that I could find you.

GABRIELLE
Xena. I was willing to die to save you from my evil daughter. I knew the memory of her would torment me for the rest of my life. Knowing I had to take her life again.

XENA
You meant to commit suicide?

GABRIELLE
Xena, you should have just let me go then. I was in so much despair. We could have been together in the next life. In my next life I will never remember that I had an evil daughter. I’ve lived more years without you now than with you in this life.

XENA
I’m so sorry Gabrielle. You’re right. I should have let you go, but I couldn’t. I was never as strong as you. If you had not been there I would never have been able to return to Valhalla to repair the damage I caused there. I would never have been able to release those 40,000 souls in Higutchi. That is why I need your help now. I need to send you to my past.

GABRIELLE
What do you mean send me to your past?

XENA
I need to send you to my past with Ares. I never told you the whole story of how we met, and how I allowed him to stir my passion for blood-lust.

EXT. NIGHT. WOODS. NORSE LANDS 52 BC

ALT XENA is camped alone stirring up a fire. She is dressed as a Valkarie. 52 B.C. flashes up on the screen.

FLASHBACK:
ALT XENA forging the ring from the RHINEGOLD.
FLASHBACK : ALT XENA being attacked by GRENDALL the monster and losing the battle for the ring.

ALT XENA
Don’t think you’ve won anything! These chains will hold you for an eternity and you will never use the power of the ring!

EXT. NIGHT. WOODS
A frustrated ALT XENA still camped stirring up the fire as she is running her recent failure at Valhalla through her mind. Suddenly there is a bright flash of light. ARES the god of war appears standing on the opposite side of the fire before her. ALT XENA instantly jumps up from her seated position in the camp drawing her sword taking a defensive position. ARES pulls his sword awaiting her attack. ALT XENA charges toward ARES flipping into action.

ALT XENA
Sheeee-ya!

ALT XENA and ARES do battle. ARES is clearly enjoying the encounter and the challenge of ALT XENA’s warrior skills against him. ARES toys with ALT XENA in their battle. ALT XENA is all business against him. After ARES tests ALT XENA’s moves against him he disarms her with a quick god-like move. ALT XENA wildly charges at him without her weapon. ARES easily blocks her advance. ARES twists ALT XENA’s arm behind her and holds her tightly and close to his body.

ARES
I’m not here to fight you.

ALT XENA struggles to release herself from his firm grasp. ARES is clearly stronger and stays in control.

ALT XENA
Who are you?

ARES
Xena, I am about to become your most loyal friend and ally. You need allies right now.
ARES releases ALT XENA from his grasp. ALT XENA quickly twists her body around to face him putting some cautious distance between herself and him.

ALT XENA
(Scowling)
How do you know my name?

ARES
Well. Let’s just say I heard it from some local bards in the Norse lands. That is where you just came from. Am I right?
ARES and ALT XENA circle one another around the camp fire burning. Neither one takes his or her close eye off of the other.

ALT XENA
So I made a name for myself.

ARES
Exactly! I’ve been following you for some time now. Let’s just say that I am your biggest fan. Your path of destruction through Greece, Chuppa, and Chin impresses me. I don’t impress easily.

YOUNG XENA lets her guard down ever so slightly, but still keeps a close eye on ARES. She stops circling the fire and pauses in front of her sword upon the ground. ARES mirrors her move.

ALT XENA
You seem to know a lot about me, but I’ve heard nothing about you. Why would I want to ally with a nobody?

ARES
I’m the greatest nobody you’ll ever meet. The one who is going to shape, and mold you into somebody.

ALT XENA
You’re an attractive nobody. I’ll give you that.

ARES has ALT XENA entranced with his natural godly charms. ARES moves slowly toward ALT XENA.

ARES
Well that is a start.

ALT XENA
A start, to what?

ARES
A start to your partnership with the most powerful war god you will ever know.

ALT XENA uses her boot to retrieve her sword from its resting place. Effortlessly ALT XENA captures her sword in her hand and sheathes it back into its place of rest.

ALT XENA
I just left Odin in Valhalla. If you know me so well you’ll know gods don’t impress me. They’re weak.

ARES
Odin. Despite his attempt to be a hard-ass I’d say it’s not in his nature. That is why he is the god of Valhalla and not the god of war.

ALT XENA
There is a god for war in every culture. What makes you such a special god?
ARES uses this opportunity to move even closer into ALT XENA’s personal space.

ARES
None of the other war gods know amazing talent when they see it. That is what makes me different from the rest. They are all content with just conquering their little corner of the world. But me, I am an ambitious war god. Sure, I’ve got control over Greece, and maybe some parts of Rome, but I want to rule the entire world of war.

ALT XENA
So you’re Ares…

ARES
Yes, and I have a certain bone to pick with a certain little man who seems to think he has a special destiny.

ALT XENA
Caesar!

ALT XENA moves away from the seemingly instant sexual tension ARES has easily created between them. Her focus has suddenly shifted into an alternate raw emotion.

ARES moves away from ALT XENA realizing the nerve he has touched.

ARES
Yes, Caesar! If I remember correctly I do believe the two of you have a very important history together. So I’ve heard.

ALT XENA
(extreme focus)

Yes.

ARES
He seems to think he is going to conquer a little island called Britannia.

ARES takes the opportunity to regain the sexual tension moving back into ALT XENA’s personal space.

ARES
I want you to have that island. If you’ll just put your trust in me Xena, I can show you where to find a very powerful weapon. It’s one of a kind. Using this weapon I can show you the way to defeat Caesar.

ALT XENA
And what do you want from me?

ARES
All I want from you Xena is your undying loyalty and your unforsaken love.
ARES smiles, laughs, then vanishes within a powerful ball of light.

FLASHFORWARD:

INT. DAY. ORACLE DELPHI GREECE

GABRIELLE
You want me to stop you from meeting with Ares?

XENA
No. I want you to make sure that I don’t kill Bodecia when I betray her.

GABRIELLE
But you didn’t kill Bodecia Xena.

XENA
Gabrielle, it’s because of you that I didn’t kill Bodecia. You were in my past, but I didn’t know it then. You saved Bodecia’s life. You saved Bodecia because I sent you to save her from me.

GABRIELLE
Xena, that doesn’t make any sense.

XENA
It will Gabrielle. Take my hands.

XENA reaches out her hands toward GABRIELLE. GABRIELLE reaches out and takes XENA’s hands.

XENA
Remember Gabrielle that you must use me to help you stop Ares, but you must also keep your identity secret from me. You cannot tell the younger me who you are. I won’t listen anyway. I was too blinded by blood-lust then.

GABRIELLE
How will I use your younger self to stop Ares when I can’t tell you the truth?

XENA
Gabrielle you will have to betray me.

GABRIELLE
How will I do that?

XENA
You will help me and Ares steal the dark chakram from Kal in the Celtic lands. We will do it using Bodecia and her army.

GABRIELLE
How do I get to the past?

XENA
Do you still have my chakram?

GABRIELLE reaches underneath her clothing and reveals Xena’s CHAKRAM. GABRIELLE then hands XENA her CHAKRAM.

GABRIELLE

I’ve never spent a day without carrying it with me. It’s like having a part of you that is still alive. It has kept me safe.
XENA smiles proudly and takes the CHAKARM from GABRIELLE.

XENA
Gabrielle, it’s time. Are you ready?

GABRIELLE
Yes Xena.

XENA reaches her hands out and softly touches GABRIELLE’S face.

XENA

Close your eyes.

EXT. DAY. BRITANNIA. 52 BC. OPEN BATTLEFIELD.
PERSEUDICAS is placing his hands upon GABRIELLE’S face. He is shaking her. GABRIELLE appears disoriented for a moment and then she falls backward to the ground. GABRIELLE is dressed as a healer with long hair, a hat.

PERSEUDICAS
Who are you? Why are you following us?

GABRIELLE appears confused for a moment then looks to BODECIA.

GABRIELLE
You’re Bodecia!

BODECIA looks to PERSEUDICAS.

GABRIELLE
Where is Xena?

BODECIA
You know the warrior princess?

PERSEUDICAS
Don’t trust her Bodecia. You can’t trust anyone with a reputation like that.

BODECIA
How do you know Xena?

GABRIELLE
I’m in Brittania, right?

BODECIA
Yes. You must have been hit pretty hard.

GABRIELLE notices her minor head injury.

BODECIA
How do you know Xena?

GABRIELLE
I’m her best friend.

PERSEUDICAS
Xena doesn’t have any friends. She is the destroyer of nations.

BODECIA
Perseudicas, we have to reach out and ally with Xena. We have no choice.

PERSEUDICAS
Bodecia, there is always a choice. We could offer a truce with Caesar.

GABRIELLE
I know Caesar, and he will take Britannia. He will not agree to any terms for your people.

BODECIA
How do you know Caesar?

GABRIELLE
Caesar once betrayed Xena. His betrayal hardened her heart.

BODECIA reaches out to help GABRIELLE to her feet. GABRIELLE takes BODECIA’s hand.

BODECIA
(To Gabrielle)
You should choose your friends more wisely.

PERSUEDICAS
You said you could help us back there.

GABRIELLE
I can. If you’re looking for Xena I know her better than anyone. I can track her for you.

PERSEUDICAS
You don’t look like someone who knows too much about battle.

GABRIELLE

I was once a student of Xena’s.

GABRIELLE, still coming to her senses, surveys a fresh battle. The field is littered with injured and dead soldiers both Roman and soldiers of Britannia.

GABRIELLE
I can help you with your wounded.

GABRIELLE moves to a nearby wounded soldier. She scrounges up whatever supplies nearby she can to tend to his wounds. PERSEUDICAS looks to BODECIA.

PERSEUDICAS
Bodecia, how do you know we can trust this woman?

GABRIELLE works with the injured solider still listening to the conversation.

GABRIELLE
Xena sent me. She wants to defeat Caesar just as much as you do.

GABRIELLE looks to BODECIA.

GABRIELLE
You don’t have much time. From what I can tell, Caesar only sent a small garrison to test your defenses. Now that he knows what your strengths and weaknesses are he will come back at you.

PERSEUDICAS
He can’t possibly get reinforcements here from Rome in a day

GABRIELLE
Perseudicas, he has them out at sea waiting for his next command. He thinks of nothing, but conquering. His weakness is his arrogance. Caesar has a destiny.

BODECIA
We’ll need re-enforcements.

PERSEUDICAS
I will get out the word calling all arms.

BODECIA
We’ll rally in the north. That should buy us some more time before Caesar’s next strike.

GABRIELLE
I’ll find Xena. She will help you and your men defend Britannia.

EXT. TEMPLE OF THE ORACLE. 2 A.D.
EVE is tending to the horses as she awaits Gabrielle’s return from inside the temple. EVE reaches into Gabrielle’s scroll bag. She carefully opens it and begins to read it. CU EVE reading the scroll.

V.O. GABRIELLE
And so my struggle between guilt and loyalty had ended as I had forgiven Eve for her wrongs. I had accepted her for her own darkness as I had accepted Xena’s darkness so long ago. And then Xena had granted me her own gift. It was the gift of sharing in motherhood for she understood my pain in losing my own Hope. She wanted to give me a new hope. It was the part of my light that had been sacrificed for a friend so many winters ago. A loyal friend could not ask for much more than that.
CU reveal a hand reaching out from behind and grabbing EVE’s shoulder. EVE appears startled for a moment. Reveal XENA standing behind EVE dressed in the oracle’s clothing. EVE turns to face XENA.

EVE
Mother? You’re alive! How did you…

XENA reaches out to embrace her daughter.

XENA
Eve it’s so good to see you again.

EVE
Mother, where is Gabrielle?

XENA
I sent her to my past. There is something important for her to do there.

EVE
Are you the one who sent me the vision?

XENA
Yes. I needed you to bring Gabrielle here. It was the only way.

EVE
But how are you suddenly alive again?

XENA
I made a deal with the arch angel Michael.

EXT. HEAVEN
JOXER is in heaven as is AUTOLYCUS. JOXER is sporting angel wings. AUTOLYCUS has just arrived after death.

JOXER
So Autolycus, how do you like my new wings?

AUTOLYCUS
Of course, it would have to be you who greeted me at the gates of the Elysian Fields. This is the Elysian Fields, right?

JOXER
Well, sort of. Here they call the Elysian Fields heaven.

AUTOLYCUS
The Elysian Fields, heaven, whatever they call it. So why am I so wet?

MICHAEL
You’ve just passed through the waters of purification.

AUTOLYCUS
Okay. So does that mean I’m pure of all sin?

JOXER
Kind of.

AUTOLYCUS
So what do I need to do the get my wings? It can’t be very hard. If you can earn them Joxer, the standards must not be too high.

MICHAEL
Autolycus, Joxer got his wings after passing through some challenges. For each person the challenges are different in order to earn your wings.

AUTOLYCUS
That’s great. When do we start?

MICHAEL
You’re not ready. Joxer, I think you can handle it from here.

MICHAEL exits to tend to other matters.

AUTOLYCUS
(Shouting to Michael)
What do you mean I’m not ready? If this were really the Elysian Fields Cleopatra would be sitting in this tub with me right now.

EXT. HEAVEN
XENA is watching GABRIELLE from heaven. MICAHAEL enters.

MICHAEL
Xena we have a problem on earth with someone you know very well.

XENA
What are you talking about? Is it Gabrielle

MICHAEL
No. It’s not Gabrielle. In every universe Caesar dies because he has somehow betrayed you, and in every universe he tampers with the fates’ loom attempting to alter his destiny of death.

XENA
I don’t understand. I always thought that the fates were something invented by the Greek gods?

MICHAEL
The fates and their loom are tied to the Greek gods, but it is ultimately not the Greek gods that mind the loom. The fates do because it contains all soul contracts to be performed while in life upon the earth. Caesar has discovered this and he is destroying multiple universes with his actions. If we don’t find a way to put a stop to it soon Caesar will destroy the light and all of us with it.

XENA
Ares tampered with the loom once.

FLASHBACK: FATES LOOM
FATES are spinning their loom.

V.O. ALT GABRIELLE
Where are we? What is this place? Who are they?

FATE 1
We…

FATE 2
Are…

FATE 3
The Fates!

REVEAL ARES and ALT GABRIELLE standing before the FATES and their loom. ARES reaches out to touch a thread in their loom as it spins through his hand.

ARES
Yes. The fates. They spin the thread of life for all you mortals.

ALT GABRIELLE
What am I doing here?

ARES
Oh, I don’t know, for old time sake. To call in a debt! Remember? You still owe me for getting you to Chin ahead of Xena. Now I’m calling that favor in. If Xena kills Hope this thread is cut.

ALT GABRIELLE
If I had to die to keep Dahok’s evil from the world then I will.

ARES reaches out and takes ALT GABRIELLE’S hand and places it upon the spinning thread on the loom. ALT GABRIELLE is suddenly alarmed as she feels the thread spinning through her hand.

ALT GABRIELLE
That’s, that’s Xena! This is Xena’s life thread.

ARES
That’s right. And if she kills Hope….
ARES makes a sound like scissors cutting thread as he demonstrates the consequences. ALT GABRIELLE takes her hand off of the loom slowly.

ARES
The Fates agree. I have the right to ask this.

FATE 1
That is right…

FATE 2
The burden is…

FATE 3
On Gabrielle…

FATE 1
If Xena…

FATE 2
Kills Hope, Xena…

FATE 3
Will die…

FATE 3 standing before ALT GABRIELLE pulls out a large pair of scissors ready to cut the thread.

EXT. HEAVEN

MICHAEL
Ares overstepped his bounds.
XENA
Michael, send me back to help Gabrielle defeat Caesar.

MICHAEL
Xena, you must do more than defeat Caesar. You must also stop Ares. Ares is working with Caesar on this. His goal is to have you for eternity. He wants to reverse the looms so that in every universe you will always belong to him. Ares is using Caesar’s obsession with his own destiny to do it.

XENA

Michael, you know I am up for any challenge. You know I can defeat Ares.

MICHAEL
There is only one way to put a stop to Ares, Xena. You must entomb him so that he can’t do any more damage using Caesar. Once Ares is out of the way, Caesar can no longer return to the loom to alter it.

EXT. COAST OF BRITANNIA. DAY
GABRIELLE, hidden behind the rocks along the coastline is observing a large Roman ship which has landed. She observes CAESAR giving orders. While she watches she notices just beyond her a flash of light.

GABRIELLE
(whispering to self)
Ares! I should have known you would be here, but who are you with?
GABRIELLE attempts to get a closer look. She approaches a little closer. Then she spies ALT XENA.

GABRIELLE
(whispering to self with concern)
Xena.

ALT XENA
Where are we?

ARES
We have just arrived on the island of Britannia. And that right there is….

ALT XENA
I know what that is. A Roman ship.

ARES
Yes. It belongs to Caesar.

GABRIELLE is spying what is about to unfold. ALT XENA appears very interested in what Ares has to say.

ARES
We are going to take CAESAR’s ship from him and then we are going to sail to another island.

ALT XENA
You can’t just take a Roman ship alone. Or maybe you are the god that you say you are and we could take it, just the two of us.

ARES
I really like your style, but you’re right. We do need an army.

ALT XENA
I suppose you know where we can get one.

ARES
Yes. There is an army here on this island led by Bodecia. I want you to take command of Bodecia’s army. I like her, but you are a much more suited leader for them.

GABRIELLE is still focused on their conversation when APHRODITE pops in behind the rocks with her startling GABRIELLE.

APHRODITE
Hey Gabby! Long time no see.

GABRIELLE
Aphrodite what are you doing here?

APHRODITE
Xena told me you needed some help. She told me to come here to find you. So here I am.
APHRODITE laughs playfully loud.

GABRIELLE
Shhhhh…..

APHRODITE
Hey that is no way to greet a friend. I might just go ahead and pop on back to where I came from with that attitude.

GABRIELLE
I didn’t mean it that way. Just stay quiet or they’ll hear us.

APHRODITE
Who? Who are we hiding from? Oh, this is so fun. I love games!

APHRODITE spies ARES.

APHODITE
Oh, that is my brother. Who is he with?

GABRIELLE
It’s Xena, or at least, who Xena was. Aphrodite, you didn’t put a love spell on Ares did you?

APHRODITE
Aw, don’t get your panties in a bunch. She’ll fall in love with you eventually.

GABRIELLE
Funny, aren’t you?

APHRODITE
Fine. I’ll come back later when you’re in a better mood warrior bard.

APHRODITE vanishes within a sparkling mess of energy. GABRIELLE shakes her head and then turns back to spy on ALT XENA and ARES. GABRIELLE notices ARES has vanished. She can’t see XENA anymore either. Suddenly she feels something approaching from behind. She jumps to her feet turning to whip around raising her sais to defend. REVEAL ALT XENA charging toward GABRIELLE as GABRIELLE wards of ALT XENA’s attack. For every offensive move ALT XENA makes GABRIELLE has the perfect defense against it. Suddenly, GABRIELLE flips away from the beach over ALT XENA facing her.

GABRIELLE
Xena, we can continue to fight each other and draw attention to ourselves or I can give you my proposal.

ALT XENA
You’re pretty good.

GABRIELLE
You’re are pretty wreckless!

ALT XENA
Who are you?
(Lowers sword.)

GABRIELLE
My name is Mavis.

ALT XENA
What kind of a name is that?

GABRIELLE
(replacing her sais to their resting place)
Does it really matter?

ALT XENA
What’s your offer?

GABRIELLE
I can help you with that army you need.

ALT XENA
Did Ares send you?

GABRIELLE
No. Bodecia sent me.

ALT XENA
Who is this Bodecia everyone keeps talking about?

GABRIELLE
We don’t have much time before Caesar strikes again.

ALT XENA
So you think you’re in charge now Mavis.

ALT XENA smacks GABRIELLE playfully on the back of the head. Walking ahead.

ALT XENA
Well, what are you waiting for? Let’s go get my army.

V.O. EVE
Xena had successfully disarmed and beaten the god of war in a fair battle. She turned to face Gabrielle, and all who witnessed the battle declaring candid victory as she laughed playfully and danced with delight.

INT. DAY. XENA’S TOMB. AMPHIPOLIS
EVE reading another of GABRIELLE’S scrolls.

EVE
Ares just watched the scene disgusted that he had been defeated by a mortal. His hopes for controlling Xena had been destroyed.

EVE looks up from reading.

EVE
You’ve spent your entire existence trying to get away from him haven’t you?

XENA
Between Ares and Caesar my existence has had no peace. Even in death they haunt me. Eve know that I never wanted you to grow up in Rome learning the ways of war. I regret that I was not there for you.

EVE
Mother I don’t blame you. You would have been there had Ares not gotten to you first. Why didn’t you tell him your plan?

XENA
I didn’t want the other gods to know you were alive. I faked all of our deaths. Ares just made them real when he entombed me and Gabrielle on Mount Edna for 25 years . Octavious was honorable in that he kept you safe all of those years. He did only what he knew.

EVE
So this is the place we are going to face him?

XENA
It’s perfect. It’s poetic in a way. Gabrielle brought my ashes from Higutchi here as she had always promised. She wants to be buried here, with me. I sent Aphrodite to be there with her when Gabrielle is ready to come home. Eve, when this is all over I want you to go to Podedia and ask Lilla for all of Gabrielle’s scrolls. Bring them here and bury them with us.

EVE
So what do we do now?

XENA
We wait. Ares will soon discover that something about his plan is not going the way he anticipated. When he suspects it he will look for me.

EVE
What about Caesar?

XENA
Caesar will bury himself with his own destiny. I’m certain of it. Without Ares he won’t be able to destroy another loom in an attempt to change his destiny.

EVE
Who is going to take Gabrielle’s place and carry on your legacy?

XENA
You are Eve. Come over here and sit with me.
EVE joins XENA seated on the floor of the tomb.

XENA
I am going to teach you what Lao Ma taught me. You can fight with the power of your mind if you can harness its stillness. Now take my hands.
EVE takes XENA’s hands.

XENA
Close your eyes.
EVE closes her eyes.

INT. DAY. LAO MA’S PALACE
XENA
(speaking softly)
Nothing is as soft as water, yet who can withstand the raging flood.
EVE opens her eyes.

EVE
It’s beautiful! How did you do it?

XENA
(speaking softly)
Fill yourself with desire and see only illusion, end yourself of desire and understand the great mystery of things.
EVE
Where are we mother?
XENA
Lao Ma’s palace. She was the first person to try to save my soul after Caesar destroyed it.
EVE
It’s so peaceful here.

XENA
You can visit here anytime. All you have to understand is that the entire world is driven by a will, blind and ruthless. In order to transcend the limitations of that world, you need to stop willing, stop desiring, stop hating.

EVE
I don’t know if I understand.

XENA
I didn’t understand at first, but I know you will. You will understand when it matters most.
XENA reaches out and touches EVE’S face softly. XENA smiles.

XENA
To conquer others is to know power, to conquer yourself is to know The Way. Eve know that you must protect the remaining loom. It is the key for all of us, but you can use it to get Ares’s attention. Beware for you may also face Caesar along the way.

EVE
You are not going to fight Ares?

XENA
No. You are my legacy Eve. It must be you. I understand now. Heaven endures and Earth lasts a long time because they do not live for themselves.

V.O. GABRIELLE
Heaven endures and Earth lasts a long time because they do not live for themselves.

EXT. BRITANNIA. NIGHT. CAMPFIRE
ALT XENA is sitting by the campfire sharpening her sword while GABRIELLE sits opposite writing on a piece of parchment speaking out loud as she writes.

GABRIELLE
Therefore she who would live a long time, should live for others, serve others.

GABRIELLE stops for a moment perplexed.

GABRIELLE
I think I understand now.

ALT XENA looks up from her sword annoyed.

ALT XENA
What?

GABRIELLE
I think I understand why I’m here.

ALT XENA
For someone who fights like a warrior your philosophy is old news.

GABRIELLE
What do you mean?

ALT XENA
It’s from the book of Lao Ma.

GABRIELLE
I know.

ALT XENA
Then why are you writing it down like you just discovered the idea?

GABRIELLE
Because it inspires me.

ALT XENA
How much longer until we reach Bodecia’s camp?

GABRIELLE
We will probably arrive there sometime in the early afternoon if we get an early start. Why are you in such a hurry to betray someone? I think you will discover that Bodecia is a very powerful woman with inegrity.

ALT XENA
Integrity never won a battle. That is why she needs me to help her defeat Caesar.

GABRIELLE
You are known as the Destroyer of Nations.

ALT XENA
Really? Then I’m succeeding.

GABRIELLE
If you were succeeding you wouldn’t be going after the secret weapon. Let’s be honest. That is what you really want, ultimate power, just like Caesar. Didn’t you hear anything Lao Ma said to you in Chin?

ALT XENA
What are you some kind of oracle?

GABRIELLE
In a manner of speaking.

GABRIELLE continues writing as ALT XENA goes back to sharpening her sword.

GABRIELLE
If you are succeeding then why don’t you just stop the violence now? You’ve come this far from your home. In the beginning it was all about protecting it. Now what is it about for you?

ALT XENA
If you don’t stop getting into my head Mavis I may kill you while you sleep. How does that sound? Then maybe I can have some real peace.

GABRIELLE
Kill me if it relieves your pain. I would do anything to relieve your pain. Even if it means my own death Xena.

ALT XENA
What do you know about pain?

GABRIELLE
More than you will ever understand.

FLASHBACK: DAY. COASTAL HARBOR

ALT XENA
Gabrielle I am catching a ship here that will take me close to the kingdom of Chin. If there was ever a time to turn back it’s now.

ALT XENA embraces ALT GABRIELLE

ALT XENA
I understand.

ALT GABRIELLE
You owe someone so much that you would just throw away these last few years.

ALT XENA
Yes.

ALT XENA walks away boarding the ship. ALT GABRIELLE watches disappointed and saddened. Shaking her head ALT GABRIELLE grabs ARGO’S reigns and turns away noticing ARES standing in the shadows of the village. ARES looks to her.

ARES
Well, there she goes without you.

ALT GABRIELLE looks to the ship again.

ARES

Kind of makes you feel second best doesn’t it?

ALT GABRIELLE
Leave me alone Ares. Xena has her own decisions to make.

ALT GABRIELLE attempts to move on with ARGO on down the road ignoring Ares.

ARES
Really?

ARES approaches ALT GABRIELLE from the shadows.

ARES
Sounds more like an obligation to me. Yep. Lao Ma must be very important alright. Xena would never do anything like this for you. Funny, isn’t it? You give up your family, your home, your blood innocence, your daughter, all because of Xena. And yet it’s like nothing compared to the debt she owes this woman. Of course, you could always stop her.

ALT GABRIELLE
I could never get to Chin fast enough. Xena is sure to take the fastest route.

ARES
Hmmm…that is true. You’re only mortal after all.

ALT GABRIELLE
You could do it.

ALT GABRIELLE looks to ARES who appears intrigued at her idea.

ALT GABRIELLE
You could get me there ahead of her.

ARES
Is that what you want? Cause you have to ask me. That is if it doesn’t bother you owing a favor to the god of war.

ALT GABRIELLE
Send me there. I’m asking.

ARES
To prevent a murder. For the sake of friendship.

ALT GABRIELLE
Yeah. For friendship.

EXT. DAY. BRITANNIA CAMPFIRE
GABRIELLE suddenly awakens to ALT XENA on top of her going in with a knife for the kill. GABRIELLE acts quickly using the death pinch on ALT XENA. ALT XENA falls backward onto her knees before GABRIELLE. GABRIELLE is still half sleeping suddenly realizing what she has just done. She stands up looking into ALT XENA’s eyes. ALT XENA is struggling to hold onto life.

GABRIELLE
You know what I just did. Now stop trying to kill me. I’m here to make sure you reach your destiny. I’m here to serve you.

GABRIELLE suddenly releases ALT XENA from the death grip as blood is trickling down ALT XENA’s nose as she struggles to catch her breath again. GABRIELLE begins to pack up her things to leave camp.

GABRIELLE
I was hoping for breakfast, but I think we’ll skip it today. You’re too unpredictable.

ALT XENA is regaining her strength struggling to speak.

ALT XENA
Don’t you realize we’re surrounded?

GABRIELLE stops for a moment to feel and to listen to what ALT XENA is referring to.

GABRIELLE
It’s not Caesar’s army. Bodecia! It’s Mavis! I have Xena!

PERSEUDICAS emerges from the trees along with sevearal of his warriors. He approaches GABRIELLE.

ALT XENA

Who are you?

PERSEUDICAS
Perseudicas. Mavis tells me you can help Bodecia defeat Caesar.

ALT XENA
Of course I can help her defeat Caesar. When do we meet?

PERSEUDICAS
Bodecia is one her way to rally with us. She was gathering reinforcements.

ALT XENA
We’re going to need all we can get.

GABRIELLE
Xena already has a plan.

PERSEUDICAS
What is the plan?

ALT XENA
Caesar has a ship parked along the southern coast. We are going to take your army and take Caesar’s ship.

PERSEUDICAS
Isn’t that move bold and wreckless?

ALT XENA
Yes. It’s exactly my style. It’s how I win battles. You have to be unpredictable. Caesar won’t see this coming. He thinks Bodecia is too conservative to make this kind of a move. He believes she is only about the defensive.

PERSEUDICAS
She won’t like this idea.

ALT XENA
Oh, she will when I’m finished talking to her.

5 thoughts on “Bodecia, the Dark, and the Light

  1. Heather says:

    I enjoyed reading this. Are you putting this out there for fun or a movie script option?

  2. Heather says:

    The only reason I ask is it would be incredibly different being a show or being a movie. If your thinking movie I would have to say to leave out all the flash backs. Maybe voices from the past would be interesting. But for xena fans I’m not sure they would want to watch the old shows again. The other thing I’m wondering about is where this is going? Are you planning to kill off gabby? I think you would receive a hurt xena crowd. Lastly, I would really think about the idea of having Ares in this as well. I’m not sure anyone can replace Kevin Smith. I do enjoy the play on the fates. Not a bad idea at all. Hope that helps and good luck.

    • Thanks Heather. Your thoughts are great things to consider. My thoughts on this are that in an attempt to “pass the torch” as Lucy Lawless has said this format could work while still satisfying getting fans’ favorite actresses for one last hurrah. As for the plan for Gabby, that can not yet be seen. 🙂

  3. I love it. It seems perfect. It’s brilliant. I hope u finish it. I want to know the outcome.

Leave a Reply

